Going Thai

I feel like the last week finally turned into my normal life in Indiana, meaning I was finally socially busy with a wide variety of people – like normal.

The 5 days of silence came as a result of 5 nights of not getting home before bedtime, and then doing it again the next day. Most of it was delightful, some of it was exhausting – and now I will go into hibernation.

Wednesday evening I went to an Italian restaurant with an American friend. Because I was getting  low on money, I went for the cheapest item on the menu – pizza. By the way, this might be a good time to interrupt and explain that I don’t really buy groceries here. I mean, I buy breakfast foods and maybe some snacks. However, aside from fresh fruit, cooking your own food is not an economical way to live in Thailand. To buy a meal here costs 1-2 American dollars, whereas cooking would require a large investment of time and money. So, while I say I was low on money and still eating out – it was still the best financial decision. Just so you know 🙂

Anyway, I learned that evening and the next day that my stomach has turned Thai on me. After six weeks of next to no dairy, and eating cheese a total of 5 times, my stomach has thrown in the  towel and demanded I stick to the preferred diet – No cheese for Megan. I’m so mad, and my coworkers are thrilled.

Friday I met up with a friend from the university we worked with the first week I was here, KMITL. This Masters student happens to also be a foreigner, from Indonesia. Maybe it’s her abruptness, or her own inability to speak Thai, but I really like this Monike. It was high time we hung out again, so we went to explore one of the 975 malls in Bangkok, Terminal 21. This is a mall I might actually keep visiting (FYI – the mall concept annoys me to no end, and I typically avoid them at all costs). This mall is unique in that the architectural design concept is clear from the moment you walk in, or hear the name, Terminal 21 – it’s an airport. Each floor is a different major country, and at each escalator exit you go through a security archway. While it sounds a bit cheesy, they’ve actually done a great job of keeping the concept clear and intriguing.

Personally, my favorite floor is England, because it made me miss London immediately.

Unfortunately, even if each floor is another country, the culture of Thailand carries through in each shop. Ahem. This is the portion of the culture where they will never tell you if you’ve been rude, unkind, or high maintenance. However, if you’re big – well, that’s fair game to discuss in great detail.

Case in point:

Me – I like this dress, but I’m sure it’s too small.

Monike – Try it on, it looks bigger than the others.

Me – I’m sure it won’t fit.

Monike – It’s Dolce & Gobanna, with THE TAG, and it’s only $45. You should just try it on.

Sales attendant – Yes, you can use our dressing room.

Me – Are you sure?

SA 1 – Of course, come this way.

Sales Attendant 2 – Hmmm…let me look. Oooh…I don’t know.

[Speaks rapidly in Thai to SA1, while looking closely at me, the dress, my size, stretching the dress, and shaking her head]

SA 2 – I think….you cannot. It is too small.

I have never left a store so quickly in my life.

Leave a Reply

