Gaining Perspective

Something’s been nagging me for the past twenty-four hours, making me edgy and uncomfortable. I blamed it on worry about my friends from America visiting, and not having an interpreter or guide. No, they’re fine. Then I blamed it on my love of New Orleans, and the sadness I experience as a result of the impending storm. That’s part of it – but really, I am not so emotionally involved there.

Finally, it made sense. I’m sad about the possibility of the storm hitting New Orleans and the potential destruction there. More than that, though, I’m sad/angry/confused/frustrated by the reaction to Tropical Storm Isaac. Or rather, the lack thereof.

Folks, a month ago my facebook wall was LOADED with the opinions (support, excitement, hatred, annoyance – all of it) regarding the comments from the owner of the Chick-Fil-a franchise on the subject of Gay Marriage. Then, the 100s of thousands of people that turned out for Chick-Fil-a Day, and bought chicken sandwiches in support of NOT amending the constitution to allow same-sex marriage. This is a big issue, I understand, and could change our country for the good or the bad. However. No one died. From that experience, no one’s home was possibly going to be destroyed or their life’s work demolished. The stress of the preparation for that day certainly did not kill your grandmother who has a heart condition.

Today there is a storm heading for a well-known city and an entire coast of America, hundreds of thousands of people have the potential to be displaced. If the levees and high-tech pump system don’t work as expected, hundreds (at least!) will lose their lives. This time we are ‘prepared’, but many are refusing to move.  No one is talking about this, aside from the news stations.

My mini-twitter community is silent, Facebook is a blank, no emails, phone calls or calls to prayer.

If we care more about the right or wrongs of gay marriage, than we do about saving someone’s life, helping as we can or simply publicly discussing the need for prayer, than what does that say about us as a Nation?

I started this note as an angry outcry against my fellow Christians, but it’s more than that. I am disappointed in them, in my agnostic friends, my atheists, Muslims and Hindus – all of whom had an opinion on one man’s stance on Gay Marriage.

Spare a bit of that energy, and be prepared to help recover from this storm. Be aware, care – be ready if needed. If a house needs to be rebuilt, and you did not know there was a storm heading that way…no one will remember that you were for or against Gay Marriage, or the constitution. It’s love and helping care for your fellow man that is going to be remembered in the long run.

For my friends who do read the Bible:

Galations 5:6 – For in Christ Jesus neither circumcision nor uncircumcision has any value. The only thing that counts is faith expressing itself through love.

Leave a Reply

