Questions of Definition

I’ve been thinking lately about questions that define my life, and how the questions I ask (and AM asked) give such a clear portrait of where I am, what I’m doing and my place in this world. Think about it, the questions you ask regarding an infant are quite different than those you ask an adult.

“Is he sleeping? Why won’t you sleep? Are you dirty? What’s the matter, what’s the matter, what’s the matter?”

So, some questions I’ve been asked here, constantly, and never at home:

1. What can you eat? Can you eat our food? This question was asked approximately 15 times on my first day of work.

2. Do you like our food?

3. How will you get home?

4. Where is your umbrella?! Honestly, half of my friends don’t even use the umbrella they may or may not own. Raincoats and cars make such a difference!

5. Did you bring a new shirt since you’re wet?

6. How do you know this word?!

7. Are you going to stay here longer? I am asked this question at least 3 times a week, sometimes everyday. Do you ask internationals this question? Because I don’t! Never, unless they are well-adjusted students on the verge of graduating. My current answer is, “I forbid you to prophesy that idea into my future, ask me in two months!”

8. Did you bring flip-flops since it’s flooding? Always.

9. We don’t eat that [vegetable] raw. Where did you buy it? In your supermarket.

10. How often do you call your family?

11. Do you have any friends coming to visit you?

12. Can you speak Thai Language?

One thought on “Questions of Definition

Leave a Reply

