The Case of Employment

What you don’t see here, on this public blog, are the half-dozen posts I’ve written and saved, unpublished. As I’ve had a lot of time on my hands lately, I’ve been pondering and dissecting many situations. Some of this is bad, some of it is helping me get to a better understanding of who I am and why that is, why I believe and act the way I do, and why some of you are no longer a large part of my life.
In the midst of all this soul searching, I got a job.

I. Got. A. Job.

I am employed. I have somewhere to be 5 days a week. I have responsibilities, and a steady income.
Phew, what an enormous relief!

I know that discussing my employer publicly is grounds for dismissal, so I will be circumspect. However, I’m doing my research on this topic and preparing to discuss the hilarity of my daily life again. For the past week, my roommate has been waiting with baited breath for me to return with news of my excursions to work. You think I’m exaggerating? When she gave me a ride today, before we left the parking lot, she turned to me and said, “I think you should write a book about your experience at this store! Everytime I visit, I feel like I’m in a foreign [developing] country.”

For the time being, let me paint you a picture of my status:

26 year old, Single, Caucasian Female working at a Home Improvement Store:
Individual is trained as a Cashier in the Department catering to Residential Contractors, a demographic 98.5% Male.

I sell these things…

These Men typically work with a Male-Only Crew, indicating their Interaction with said Female Cashier is a strong Contrast to their Routine.

My customer demographic

Female Cashier will deal with a Broad Demographic, handling the orders of shower-needing High School Drop-outs with three Baby Mamas, and cologne-spritzed Refined and Educated Businessmen.

Perhaps I wouldn’t stand out so much, if my nails didn’t always look like this…

The stories she will tell…

Leave a Reply

