This Age {Just Write}

I’m participating in {Just Write} an exercise in Free Writing. Details below.

“My credit score is great.”

“Got a loan for a car.”

“Up all night, and there was no alcohol involved.”

“Going to to the Doctor, baby is sick.”

“I want to settle down. Start a family.”

“I lost the baby.”

“I’m expecting, again.”

“I’m starting a new job, working out of the house we just bought.”

“We’ve decided to stay put. Not leave the city.”

“Are your coworkers close to your age?” She asked me.

“Oh, I don’t think so. I think I’m quite a bit younger than most of them…maybe not. I’m not a good judge of age.”

It’s true. All those big, grown-up things were stated by my friends in the last six months. Sad. Exciting. Serious. Heart-wrenching statements that say we’re grown-ups, living the lives our parents lived out before us. Except me. I’m living, I’m living a lot. But all these permanent things – I’m so far removed from them.

And the looks. Why do I look at my peers and wonder why someone 5-10 years my senior seems as naive as me? Oh, wait –  they’re my peers. Which means the wrinkles, the life-weary sighs I hear – they’ve been earned in the same number of tears. How did I end up wrinkle-free, still looking for the excitement in life when my peers have settled, found it, decided to stay put and enjoy it? I’m an anomaly, and I wonder how.

~~~~

This is the 113th installment of Just Write, an exercise in free writing your ordinary and extraordinary moments. {Please see the details here.} I would love to read your freely written words so join me and link up below. You can add the URL of your post at any time. Just be sure it’s a link to your Just Write post, not to your main page, and please don’t link to posts that are not freely written in the spirit of capturing moments–you know, don’t link to how-to posts, lists or sponsored posts. Also, please link back to this post in yours so people know where to go if they’d like to join in.

Leave a Reply

