I’m a feminist

Note: The video below uses profanity and explicit terminology. I do not suggest listening to it in the presence of young children.

I do not agree with everything in this video, this is not a political stance. While some lifestyles Laci supports and promotes may go against my own beliefs, I agree with their right to freedom from harassment and respect.

I’m not a feminist because of some belief that my approach to sexuality ought to be respected. Oh, wait. I am. I’m a feminist because I think that men and women should take equal responsibility for their acts after a few drinks. For their acts when wearing hardly anything. For their acts when dressed in a suit and sitting behind a desk. I’m a feminist because my lack of interest in sports has been termed “just being a girl”, rather than just not being interested. I’m a feminist because when I am emotional, I freak out “like a girl”, rather than have a bad day. I’m a feminist because I see that men act irresponsible and disinterested and women act dumb, to avoid blame. I’m a feminist because my father openly admits that he married a smarter woman than he, and she does not feel insulted to be the stay-at-home mom. Because, choosing to stay home is a choice and does not diminish your potential. I’m a feminist because I think we all deserve choices. I’m a feminist because when I recently told a stranger that I am a designer, he looked around the storage-shed-of-a-coffee shop where we stood and said, “Well, this place could sure use a woman’s touch!” Because men are dumb fools without taste? I think not. I’m a feminist because I want my voice heard, alongside men, not because I am the minority in the room, or because I wore a skirt or a clingy top, but because I have an opinion and experience and I think we can collaborate. I’m a feminist not because I want men to shut their mouths, but because I want women to open them, and we can be a team of people – NOT a lot of men, and a few women. I’m a feminist because I think women have different potential than men, but by golly – THEY HAVE WORTH! I’m a feminist because I think men doing housework and laundry is attractive, and women holding meetings is exciting. I’m a feminist because I hate doing laundry, and I want to share the task, not take on his. I’m a feminist for the same reasons I am for racial equality and fair trade and kindness and manners: It makes the world a stronger place.

I’m not a feminist because I think no one should apologize ever again. I am a feminist because I think we both need to apologize with less angst. I’m not a feminist because I think creating a wonderful dinner for someone I love devalues my ability to create an accurate life-cycle cost analysis. I’m a feminist because I know there are men who won’t cook because – Gender Roles. I’m not a feminist because I think your 5 children were a mistake. I’m a feminist because I bet there’s a whole lot more to you than your reproductive abilities. I’m not a feminist because women need to stop being artists and become engineers. I’m a feminist because one of my favorite artists is a man, and why should his purple-hued images be seen as girly and feminine?

I’m a feminist because I don’t think everything about you should be assumed by your chromosomes.

Leave a Reply

